Search our Knowledge Base

Billing FAQs – How Billing Works

Table of Contents

On this page

  • Upgrade During Your Trial and You Won’t Lose Your Remaining Trial Days
  • Automatically Billed for the Correct Size Plan
  • No Extra Costs If You Go Over A Plan Threshold
  • Switching From Monthly to Annually, or Annually to Monthly
  • GST Inclusive for New Zealand Businesses

Upgrade During Your Trial and You Won’t Lose Your Remaining Trial Days

When your company first joins BeanBox you will have a trial period of the paid version of the software. You can upgrade to a paid plan anytime during your trial and you won’t lose your free trial days.

For example, if you have 10 days left on your trial, and choose to join a paid plan on a monthly frequency, then you will be charged for your first month immediately, and we’ll extend your next payment due date by 10 days. So your next payment date will be 1 month and 10 days away.  The same applies if you choose an annual payment frequency.

Automatically Billed for the Correct Size Plan

Your subscription automatically renews unless you cancel. (Read: How do I cancel my subscription?)

You will be automatically charged for the correct size plan at each payment.  The size of your plan is based on the number of current repeating invoices you have at the time of billing.

A ‘current repeating invoice’ is a repeating invoice that has future occurrences.  Any deleted repeating invoices, or repeating invoices with an end date that has passed, are not included in the count of ‘current repeating invoices’.

At the time of billing BeanBox checks your number of current repeating invoices and automatically charges you for the size plan that this fits within. This way you never pay for a bigger plan than you need.

You can view the pricing and the different threshold levels by using the slider on the Plans/Upgrade page.

No Extra Costs If You Go Over A Plan Threshold

When the number of repeating invoices in your Xero account increases above a plan threshold, there are no additional charges for the period you have already paid for.

For example, let’s say someone has selected the annual payment frequency and their next payment is due on 10th April. They have 195 current repeating invoices at the time of billing, so they will be billed for the 100-200 invoices plan size. Over the next year, their number of repeating invoices increases to 260.  Even though they are now well over the plan threshold of 200 repeating invoices, they won’t be charged anything extra for that next year.  When 10th April rolls around again, they will be charged for the 200-300 plan size, as that is the bracket they now fit within.

That’s one of the advantages of choosing an annual plan.

Switching From Monthly to Annually, or Annually to Monthly

If you have selected a monthly payment frequency, you can switch to Annual payments by going to the Plans page and selecting “Switch to Annual Payments”. Your next payment date remains unchanged. Simply, when your next payment date arrives you’ll be charged for the annual amount (and get the discount associated with the annual plan).

Likewise, if you have selected an annual payment frequency and want to change to monthly payments, go to the Plans page, click the “Monthly” switch to view the monthly pricing, and then select “Switch to Monthly Payments”.  Your next payment date remains unchanged. When your next payment is due you’ll be charged the monthly amount, and your payments will be monthly from then on.

GST Inclusive for New Zealand Businesses

We are a New Zealand company, so if your Xero account is for a New Zealand business, GST will be itemised on your invoice. The prices shown on the website include GST and you’ll be charged in New Zealand dollars.

There is no GST charged for businesses outside of New Zealand.

Upgrade / Select a Plan

Still stuck? How can we help?

Want to see instant projections for your repeating income?

BeanBox takes less than 2 mins to setup.

You get a free trial of the full features. No credit card required.

And you’ll automatically get our free-forever plan after your trial if you don’t need the full features.